7 comments

      • I thought they were but wondered about the foot dragging. I don’t see that here but maybe it’s because the snow isn’t as deep – who knows! Thanks! We have only a few nearby (though many on the island) and so far, no issues with bird seed mooching. They and the birds must keep you busy! 🙂

      • I no longer feed the deer but they still take advantage of the spilled bird seed. The birds have been constant visitors in this cold weather. It is interesting that we have 6 Stellar Jays still here. The first time that I remember them not migrating in the 47+ years here.

      • That IS interesting. It could be a trend and I’m sure they’re happy you’re putting food out. We have very few around here; they seem more numerous on the mainland. People on Tweeters, a birders’ list run by the University of Washington, have been talking about seeing lots of Kinglets and the tendency of the Golden-crowned ones to feed on or closer to the ground in cold weather. One hopped right between my feet the other day – not at home but in a park. Got a bad photo of my shoes. 😉


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.