The Neighbors (7 photos)

It has been a couple of busy days with the wildlife passing through the yard. The best find was a Long-tailed Weasel that I caught in a live trap. I had hoped to take it’s picture as I released it but it was too fast for me.

Bald Eagle (juvenile) - probably 2 years old

Bald Eagle (juvenile) – probably 2 years old

Little Brown Bat (Myotis lucifugus)

Hummingbird

Hummingbird

I use inexpensive peanut butter for my live trap to catch nuisance squirrels. This one found the jar and managed to get the lid off.

I use inexpensive peanut butter to bait my live trap to catch nuisance squirrels. This one found the jar and managed to get the lid off.

Red-breasted Sapsucker

Red-breasted Sapsucker

I think this is a Caddisfly larva in it's swimming stage. I do know I wouldn't want to find it in my bath. It is about 1.5 to 2 inches (3.8 to 5 cm) long

I think this is a Caddisfly larva in it’s swimming stage. I do know I wouldn’t want to find it in my bath. It is about 1.5 to 2 inches (3.8 to 5 cm) long.

Black Bear

Black Bear – This guy came by this morning 2 minutes after I had just emailed someone that we hadn’t seen any bears for a while.


9 comments

  1. Love your pictures. I recently discovered your site and have been enjoying your photography. What region of the country do you live in that you have so many interesting “neighbors?”

  2. I’m always happy when I see a hummingbird and an eagle in the same day…that juvenile is really handsome! The hummer is perfectly caught, the little brown bat is really, really little, isn’t it? I have to say the nuisance squirrel is awfully cute….and the bear must have heard you.

    • The bat is quite small – somewhere between a mouse and a squirrel. They can really squeeze thin to crawl under the shingles though. The bear’s hearing is amazing. Just the click of the shutter will send him off but it is good to have him so nervous of humans. Makes it more of a challenge to photograph though.


Leave a Reply

